Free from Bullying!

I think of bullying as a repetitive cycle between myself and the person who targets me.  The other person does or says something which I take personally, and yet again I am hammered back into the little hole.  As I slowly raise back up, here comes that hammer again to knock me back down.   This little hole is a personal belief in where I fit among my peers and family members, at home, school and maybe even at work.  If I am currently believing in what other people say and what their actions mean, then the little hole is a cozy place that I dare not try to leave.

I can leave it any time.  I can leave the cozy little hole and know the hammer is nothing but a hologram made of somebody’s misguided attempt to control their own little corner of the world.

With the support of a third-party (professional counselor), I can begin to differentiate between other people’s beliefs and my own.  My goals are different from other people’s goals.  And I can come to be aware of the fact that any sort of belief is temporary.  It only lives to the extent of being fed.

The fitness of a life which I want to have is dependent on my own actions.  What I do to get out from under the hammer of a bully target cycle (which is organic and changeable) is to simply step onto my track and stay on it day after day.  I wave “bye bye” to the critical remarks which get softer as my purpose is being fed .

For any remaining doubts to stay small, I look at page 46 in Jungle Pack: Therapy Workbook and Journal:

The Daily Do It No Matter What assignment:

First part: My goal is to___________________________by (date)________________.

Second part:  Three things I can do on a daily basis which are related to preparing myself for this are:

1.______________________________________.

2.______________________________________.

3.______________________________________.

Three things that I am thinking will get in the way of doing these daily tasks are:

1.______________________________________.

2.______________________________________.

3.______________________________________.

Three ways I can set up my environment for a successful doing of these tasks are:

1._____________________________________.

2.____________________________________.

3._____________________________________.

 

Leave a Reply

